Identity Crisis – WSTR

WSTR had a swift rise as part of the burgeoning U.K. pop-punk scene that saw them signed to independent American label No Sleep Records before they’d even played their first show. Hailing from Liverpool, the band, made up of Sammy Clifford on vocals, Alex Tobijanski on bass, and Kieren Alder and Danny Swift on guitar, cited American groups like blink-182, Sum 41, and New Found Glory as major influences. In September 2015 they released their first EP, SKRWD, via No Sleep, and embarked on a tour of both the U.K. and Europe alongside fellow punks Creeper, Moose Blood, and Neck Deep. WSTR received some criticism for their similarity to the Wrexham band and tourmates Neck Deep, but frontman Sammy Clifford dismissed parallels as a result of their friendship. In 2016 the band released the first single from their debut record. Lyrically, “Lonely Smiles” deals with a breakup, and Clifford confessed that the theme was the major preoccupation of the album. Red, Green or Inbetween was released in January 2017. ~ Bekki Bemrose

Recommended by Top Hitz from the Apple music Latest Releases feed  as they drop